Exhibitions during the 38th IBBY Congress 2022

5 – 8 September 2022

  1. IBBY Honour List 2022
    The IBBY Honour List is a biennial selection of outstanding, recently published books, honouring writers, illustrators and translators from IBBY member countries. The IBBY Honour List is one of the most widespread and effective ways of furthering IBBY’s objective of encouraging international understanding through children’s literature.

    The titles are selected by the National Sections which can nominate one book for each of the three categories. For a country with a substantial and continuing production of children’s books in more than one language, one book may be submitted for writing and translation in each official language.


  1. IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award 2022
    The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international distinction given to authors and illustrators of children’s books. Given every other year by IBBY, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards recognize lifelong achievement and are given to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children’s literature.


  1. IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award
    The IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award has been established by the Shenzhen iRead Foundation and IBBY to encourage a real commitment to the cause of reading promotion in the hope of spreading this dedication to others around the globe.

    The Award aims to encourage further investment by individuals, organizations and governments in the promotion of children’s reading and will stimulate educational innovation, give much greater access to children’s books and an enhanced profile for children’s reading promotion – key tools in global, social, economic and cultural development – all in the context of Article 17(C) of the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

    Every two years IBBY will invite nominations from IBBY National Sections that recognise outstanding individuals who are working to promote the expansion and development of children’s reading. From the nominations the IBBY-iRead Award Jury will select two winners.


  1. IBBY Selection of Outstanding Books for Young People with Disabilities
    All young people need books they can read and enjoy. In addition to identifying excellent picture books and novels with plots that feature characters with varied abilities, we believe it is important for children and teens to be able to read on their own whenever possible. By highlighting accessible books, we increase the opportunities for people of all abilities to read independently. Access is enhanced through a range of formats such as Braille, Picture Communication Symbols, Sign language, Easy-to-Read language, tactile or textured illustrations, dyslexia-friendly font and other design features.

    Highlights of the Collection include:

  • books in over 40 languages
  • special formats such as Blissymbolics, PCS, Braille, sign language, tactile and textile books
  • fiction books that portray children and teens with disabilities as characters in stories and novels
  • books for adults with developmental delays, language disabilities or reading difficulties


  1. The Biennial of Illustration Bratislava (BIB)
    The Biennial of Illustration Bratislava (BIB) is one of the oldest international honours for children’s book illustrators. First granted in 1967 to Yasuo Segawa (Japan), it is one of the more prestigious children’s book awards today, along with the Hans Christian Andersen Awards. From the very beginning, BIB has been held under the auspices of UNESCO and the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) and with the support of the Ministry of Culture, Slovakia.

    Winners are selected by an international jury.

    Website: https://www.bibiana.sk/en

  1. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA)
    The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was created in 2002 by the Swedish government to promote every child’s right to great stories. This global award is given annually to a person or organisation for their outstanding contribution to children’s and young adult literature. With a prize of USD500,000, it is the largest award of its kind. Above all else, it highlights the importance of reading, today and for future generations.

    Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is administered by the Swedish Arts Council. The award office is responsible for communication, support to the jury, finances and all activities related to the award. The laureates are chosen by a twelve-member expert jury.